New Girl

College is kind of like New Girl. You know, the Fox sitcom starring Zooey Deschannel? I’ve only seen a few episodes and what shows up on my Pinterest and Tumblr feeds(Yes, I’m on both. Yes, I’m okay with that.) but it sounds pretty accurate to me:

You know what sucks about getting older? Your friends have known you for way too long. They’ve got too much on you. I want friends who still lie to me, cause they don’t want to hurt my feelings.” -Nick Miller

This quote is what it feels like leaving high school and heading to college, but by the end of your first year… you just want to leave because you feel this way again. Instead of just seeing your peers for 7-ish hours a day… you live with them.



Yes, there are those people that need this asked of them. But you can’t ask them… because you live with them and they could (hypothetically if you don’t lock your door) do things do your room or to you… there are some crazies out there people. Stay safe. 

“I feel like I wanna murder someone, and also I want soft pretzels. – Jess “

Living with people all the time can give murderous thoughts. Homework, group projects, studying, and tests also cause murderous thoughts. You might have the tendency to be hungry all the time because it’s what keeps you going if you can’t afford to go to sleep and usually for random things that they don’t offer on campus. 

“I’m a human being and I’m entitled to my emotions!” -Schmidt

No. No you are not. It’s past midnight and you live in a dorm and you are standing right outside my door. (yes, I speak from experience)

“What if I have some idea of love in my head and it’s just totally wrong?” -Jess

You’re here to be educated. Be educated.
And don’t date someone in your building.

“Now, which one of you wants to tell me to get a job?” – Jess

The question isn’t who, but when.

Jess: Who’s that girl? It’s Jess.
Nick: Did you just make up a theme song for yourself?”

Sometimes we just need our own personal theme song to get us out of bed in the morning and get through the day.

Have any other TV quotes that can relate to campus life?

Leave a Reply

