Steel Magnolias

Since I only have five days before the last month of the year, I decided it was high time to post about my summer fun!

This summer, I was fortunate enough to portray Shelby Eatenton ( “soon to be Latcherie”) in Steel Magnolias by Robert Harling with five other amazing women, and a wonderful director at Das Dutchman Essenhaus.

The story is most famous in the 1989 version starring Sally Fields, Julia Roberts, Dolly Parton, and Shirley MacLaine.

My character got married, pregnant, and died … all in three scenes! Oh, and I got a hair cut… and dye.

All photos are property of Das Dutchman Essenhaus.

IMG_9158The show was performed in the round. It was very intimate but challenging.

IMG_9172Rocking the pink shoes and getting my hair done for my wedding.

IMG_9173

IMG_9215This is a Ouiser appreciation post.

IMG_9290Just look at that sassy new do! I was informed by many friends… it wasn’t a good look.

IMG_9231My last scene ended with a duet of It Is Well between Shelby and M’Lynn.

IMG_9228Making the audience cry in this scene = priceless

IMG_9256As I opened the door to exit on the end of the last refrain, a light illuminated me from behind.

It was one of the best experiences of my life. Being able to work with such amazing actresses was a highlight of my summer.

My favorite quotes from the play:

“Well, I really do love football, but it’s hard to parlay that into a reason to live.” -Clairee

“Reader’s Digest is a fount of useful information.” -Ouiser

“I’d rather have thirty minutes of wonderful, than a lifetime of nothing special.” -Shelby

“The only difference between us and the animals is our ability to accessorize!” -Clairee

Cast quotes:

“Don’t be sorry, be better.” – Stephanie (Annelle)

“It’s okay, you’re pretty.” -Stephanie (Annelle)

“Nope.” – Me

Leave a Reply

