Nomad Life

My name is Kelly Miller and I’m a nomad.

nomad |ˈnōˌmad| noun

a member of a people having no permanent abode, and who travel from place to place to find fresh pasture for their livestock.

• a person who does not stay long in the same place; a wanderer.

The idea of a nomadic life could sound idyllic to those with wanderlust. But the thing about wanderlust is that there is always someplace to call home. You might pack a carry-on for 21 days (thanks Pinterest) but you’ll eventually return to your (hopefully) clean house, drop your bag by the front door, sink onto the couch, and breath deeply.

Home.

It’s where the heart is, isn’t it?

There’s no place like home.

Enter me. 19-year-old college sophomore. I think one of the hardest parts about the college lifestyle is the inability to settle down. You pack the essentials of life (and then some) into boxes and bins and shove everything into the family vehicle. Hours later, you quickly unpack and try to make your half of your new cubicle as comforting as possible.

Fast forward 8 (ish) months. Pack everything in your dorm back up and wonder how it all fit in the car the first time. Say a tearful goodbye as friends spread across the country and head back to your childhood home. Unpack.

Two months later, repeat the process. If you go home for the weekend, you pack a bag like you’re going to a sleepover. In your house. 

Don’t forget about the bathrooms in college! If you have community bathrooms, you’re constantly toting your toiletries to and from the shower. Even the semi-private bathrooms I have seem absurd! To share a bathroom with 5 (should be 7) other girls that I may not have known before seems odd. And shoes in the shower? Not that I would dare go barefoot! But it  feels so ridiculous to wear them.

This constant wandering is exhausting. I’m in no hurry to get thrust into the big bad real world but somehow a part of me longs to have a permanent docking place. A spot to recharge.

“You have a dorm room.” They say. True but it’s shared. With all of the horror stories about conniving roommates you would think that a better living system would have been put into place. “It’s there so you have someone be social with.” Oh goody. Every introvert’s nightmare. At least both my roommate and I have introversion tendencies…

I’m currently visiting my brother and sister-in-law. I needed to get off campus. Away from college kids. (Even if there is a college in their town) Remind myself that most living quarters come with some sort of kitchen attached and beds that don’t need ladders. But tomorrow I’ll pack my bags, throw them in my car, PJ, and head down I-69. Because that’s what I do. I’m a college student. I don’t truly belong anywhere. I’m a nomad.

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11742385/?claim=ur9mksgz2gp”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

