The Selection Series

I had stopped reading YA fiction. I didn’t declare it or anything; I had just slowly phased those books out of my reading list in college. I was tired of the character’s whining, parental disrespect, and almost complete disregard for those around them (*cough* The Seraphina Parrish Trilogy *cough*). The Hunger Games and The Grimm Chronicles I must exclude from these accusations.

So when my friend suggested I read The Selection by Kiera Cass, I wasn’t too hopeful. I trust my friend’s recommendations (usually) but my standards weren’t too high. But wow, did these books ever beat any expectations I ever may have had for them!

The dedication of the first book made me chuckle… seriously. When the dedication makes you laugh, you know you’re in for an interesting journey!

c

The series takes place in a dystopian society (Like the Hunger Games). Instead of relegating what you’re life will be based on where you live, the people of Illea were divided into castes. The castes range from 1-8. One is royalty and 8 is the lowest of the low. But here’s the thing, a person isn’t stuck in a caste. Yep. If someone has the means and abilities he/she can buy a better life. Yes, it’s hard. But I liked that a life could change and the characters I fell in love with weren’t stuck in district 11 for forever and eternity.

The Hunger Games meets The Bachelor. That’s a rough premise of the plot. The heroine, America Singer, must compete against 34 other girls to win the hand of Maxon Schreave, the crown prince of Illea. Girls of an eligible age were invited to join a “random” selection to compete to marry the prince. The girls are either in it for the crown or for the prince.

America Singer reminds me of JLaw… except I have a hard time seeing JLaw doing anything musical. But America is in the competition for the food. And she pretty much says whatever she wants.

Toss in some rebels, another boy that America is in love with, and some witty dialogue and you’ve got yourself a winner of series, folks.

Kiera Cass has followed this trilogy up with three novellas told from different perspectives. I’m hoping to find copies of those!

I don’t often read a book in a day… and I rarely read two books in one day… but I finished The Elite and The One in a single day. That’s how good they are!!!

“I want the holidays and the birthdays, the busy seasons and lazy weekends. I want peanut butter fingerprints on my desk. I want inside jokes and fights and everything. I want a life with you” – The One, Kiera Cass

 

GO FORTH AND READ!

 

I’ll just be here…. tugging my ear.

 

image // via //

Leave a Reply

