Home Sweet Home

fall leaves

Home, Sweet Home

Mid pleasures and palaces though we may roam,
Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home;
A charm from the sky seems to hallow us there,
Which, seek through the world, is ne’er met with elsewhere.
Home, home, sweet, sweet home!
There’s no place like home, oh, there’s no place like home!

– John Howard Payne

 

This fall semester I broke a record. I went two months without seeing my parents. I know people do that quite frequently but it’s only 2.5 hours from my hometown to my college town. Normally I need to head home for something or my parents make a trip down to visit. Not this year, I haven’t seen them since they moved me  in. Fun side note: The couch for our apartment didn’t fit through the stairwell doorway… so it was hoisted UP THREE STORIES by ropes. I also usually go home for Labor Day but this year my friends and I headed to Ohio to visit a friend.

photographic proof! the couch had to be readjusted on the second level.

Photographic proof! The couch had to be readjusted on the second level.

I was super-de-duper excited to head home for fall break. At the halfway point of the year, I’m already burnt out. I blame this on my immersive learning class which crammed a lot into 8 weeks. It was a great experience but it took a lot out of me. I was looking forward to not having to cook for myself for a few days and sleeping in a full-sized bed 🙂

The extended time away from home has made me notice things I love about coming home:

1. I have to track down the latest Reader’s Digest. Part of my old-soul-ness is my strange fondness for the Reader’s Digest. I read it cover to cover when I come home. I have tweeted to the editor… and she has tweeted back. I am very proud of this fact.

2. I must at least once crack the cover of the piano. I took piano lessons for about 12 years and although I have an intense fear of actually playing for people playing for myself gives me immense joy. I bust out the Pride and Prejudice, Phantom of the Opera, various hymn arrangements, and Yanni and can play away for hours. Muscle memory is a very strange thing.

3. The record player will be opened up. My uncle gifted me a record player when I was 15 and my collection has grown embarrassingly large. This weekend’s playlist included: What’s the Matter, Nanny Bird?; My Fair Lady; and Thoroughly Modern Millie.

4. Things just feel cleaner at home. Most likely due to the water softener and well water here at home, I feel cleaner after showers and I think my laundry feels cleaner. I have had the best hair days this weekend. I finally got rid of all of the mineral build-up that Muncie water likes to use to ruin my hair. My face broke out like crazy after moving to college this year but a weekend at home shaped it up pretty well. It’s not as good as it was at the end of the summer, but I can tell a difference.

5. I love sleeping in the middle of the bed. Someday (if that blessed day should ever come), this will have to change. But until I have to share, I will sleep safely in the middle. Twin beds don’t really give you much of an option… it’s pretty much all middle. There’s just something about that space on either side of me that I love!

6. Going back to my “home” church is a great feeling. I absolutely L O V E my church at school and Sundays are my favorite days of the week in school. I get so excited. But being back at NMC always feels wonderful. The people I haven’t seen for so long bring a big smile to my face as I follow them down the hall to get a hug!

It’s my last night home, and mostly I’m just sad I have to pack up in the morning. I really hate packing. What do you love about coming home?

Leave a Reply

