College Girl Eats: New Year, New Tortillas

This post was supposed to be a new year/year review… Probably involving complaints about the sub-zero weather. While I was bemusing this, I also wanted tortillas for my dinner plans… but I had no desire to unearth my car from beneath the snow. So here’s a hybrid post.

Since I wanted tortillas but didn’t want to drive, I scoured the internet (Okay, Pinterest) for a recipe. I needed one without too much butter or one that needed shortening. I settled on this one from Recipissimo.

A shot of my work in action.  Although, that side was slightly overdone.

A shot of my work in action. Although, that side was slightly overdone.

Here’s the recipe, although I changed a few things. Click the link above for the original.

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cups  flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ⅓ cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup warm water

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, add the flour, salt and baking powder. Mix together till they are well incorporated.
  2. Add the vegetable oil and warm (or hot) water.
  3. Mix well until mixture starts to form a smooth ball.
  4. Transfer dough to a well-floured surface and divide dough in small balls. I found it easiest to roll it into a log shape and divide it that way.
  5. Cover flattened dough with a clean kitchen towel and let rest for 15 minutes before proceeding.
  6. After dough has rested, heat a non-stick pan over medium-high heat.
  7. Roll each dough piece into a 6-inch diameter circle on lightly floured surface with a lightly floured rolling pin. (I did not have a rolling pin, so I had to use an olive oil bottle.)
  8. When the pan is hot, place one dough circle in the middle of the pan and let cook for 1 minute OR until the surface of the dough starts to bubble and the bottom starts to brown. At that point, flip it and cook the same way on the other side, but for slightly less time, 20-30 seconds. You want the tortilla soft and to have little brown spots on it. You don’t want to cook the tortilla too much that it becomes crispy. ( I didn’t really time it, I just checked for brownness.)
  9. Place cooked tortillas on a plate.
  10. If you’re freezing them, wait til the tortillas are completely cool before storing them in a ziploc bag. If you using them immediately, go for it!
  11. To warm it again just use the same process that when you cooked it. ( I also tried putting it into the toaster oven, which worked relatively well. Although, I was not impressed with them warmed up.)
  12. Enjoy!

And now for a year review/new year. We’ll go with four of each, because it’s my favorite number.

Year Review

  • I participated in my 11th theatrical performance.
  • I moved into an apartment with my two best friends.
  • I officially left the teen years.
  • I jumped into hand lettering.

Christmas was great. Lots of family and I met a new baby cousin for the first time 🙂

New Year

  • I got a position with the Ball State Digital Corps
  • I’m super excited for CRU Formal 2015 featuring Serendipity in poodle skirts. “Nifty in the Fifties”
  • I will be coding my own portfolio website.
  • Early to bed, early to rise, makes a gal healthy, wealthy, and wise.

How was your 2014 and what plans do you have for the new year?

Leave a Reply

