Friday Favorites #4

friday_faves4

one // 2 // three // four // five // six

1. Soft Scrub with Bleach
Moving into a college apartment means you kind of take what you can get. The apartment is pretty great… except the floor of my bathtub looked awful. All year, I was trying to get the floor of my bathtub clean. I had used everything (not even a magic eraser would work!)… except bleach. I squeezed an ample amount on the bottom, let it set. Scrubbed. Spread it over again, let it set. Scrubbed. Repeat. And now, my bathtub is sparkling. I still wouldn’t trust it for a bath… but at least it looks much better than before! I should’ve taken before and after photos!

2. 100% Aloe Vera
I went on a very long bike ride last Sunday and ended up with odd sunburnt stripes down both arms. It wasn’t too bad, but I knew I needed to put something on it. Everyone knows about the wonders of Aloe Vera on sunburns, but you need to make sure it’s 100% Aloe Vera without any added alcohol! The alcohol can dry out your skin and make your sunburn more painful. Even 100% Aloe Vera will probably have a few more extra ingredients but it is usually just enough to stabilize it on the shelf. Other food grade Aloe Vera gels will need to be refrigerated. Just read the labels 🙂

3. The Quiet Man (1952)
I’m sure I’ve seen some John Wayne movies, I just don’t remember. And they would have been much different than this one. Wonderful Irish accents, some hilarious lines, and please, just remember that it was filmed in the 1950s! It’s on Netflix where the description is: “Ex-boxer Sean Thornton courts lovely Mary Kate. But her brother may need some common sense knocked into him — literally — before the deal is done.” But my description is much different… (it’s the 1950s, remember?!)

Because it’s about John Wayne getting married, and then spending the rest of the film trying to sleep with his wife….

Father Peter Lonergan: [exasperated] Woman, Ireland may be a poor country, God help us. But here, a married man sleeps in a bed, not a bag!

And there’s a lot of reference to domestic violence:

Michaleen Flynn: Is this a courting or a donnybrook? Have the good manners not to hit the man until he’s your husband and entitled to hit you back.

And a lot of drunk Irishmen:

Michaleen Flynn: When I drink whiskey, I drink whiskey; and when I drink water, I drink water.

4. Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn
A book told through a series of letters about the creator of the sentence “A quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.” It’s about the island he comes from, and what happens when the letters from that iconic phrase begin to fall off of the memorial to him. I couldn’t put it down!

5. Rimmel London Stay Matte Liquid Mousse
I don’t wear this very often, because it is a very full coverage foundation, but it is light, and boy oh boy does it ever cover! I’ll be posting a more detailed review next week. I wear the shade True Ivory.

6. The Dustbowl Revival – Never Had to Go
I discovered this band and fell in LOVE. But this post is partially because of their music…. and partially because Dick Van Dyke is in this music video. Folk-y and bluegrass-y, their music hits me in all of the right ways.

One thought on “Friday Favorites #4

  1. Review: Rimmel London Stay Matte Liquid Mousse – Kel-logs

Leave a Reply

