College Girl Cooks: Oven Fajita Chicken

IMG_1282

If there’s something I’ve learned from cooking for myself this past year, it’s how to just make it work in the kitchen. My carefree attitude toward spices drives one of my roommates crazy. I tend to just… toss them in. This time though, I actually had to measure them… especially when I was using spices like chili powder!

Once your chicken is made, you can eat it however you like. I didn’t have tortillas and other fajita ingredients, so I just enjoyed my chicken with tortilla chips. Another night, I spread avocado salsa on toast and then put the chicken on top.

Fajita Chicken

  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/2 t onion powder
  • 1/4 t garlic powder
  • 1/4 t cumin
  • 1 t sugar
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1-2 bell peppers
  • 1 lb. chicken breast
  • Olive oil
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Mix the first 6 ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
  2. Cut the bell peppers into thin strips. Place them in a large 9×13 inch casserole dish. Slice the chicken breast into very thin strips and add it to the casserole dish with the vegetables.
  3. Sprinkle the seasoning over the meat and vegetables. Drizzle the olive oil over everything and then toss the ingredients until everything is well coated in oil and seasoning. Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, stirring once half way through.

 

This recipe was adapted from Budget Bites

Leave a Reply

