Cognitive Champagne (Thought Bubbles): The Internal Misogyny of Basic-Shaming Culture

Another riveting post brought to you by Morgen B. 

mysbitch

This past year I realized that I might love Taylor Swift.

Probably as much as the average American.

I know her most popular songs. Her hair has had me dizzy with envy.

It took me a very long time to admit this.

I tasted my first Vanilla Chai Latte, and it was sweet and delightful.

Around this time last year, I read my first Buzzfeed article on the characteristics that make one “basic” and recoiled in fear.

Yes, I DO own tall brown boots!

And YES, I DO wear them with black leggings on occasion while romping through leaves! What does that mean about me?

I have never had a Pumpkin Spice Latte, and there are just as many things that might strike me out of the “basic” criteria as those that toss me in. But the fear lingered still, because, by conforming to the Basic template, I thought I may have unknowingly lost all originality and spunkiness; I may have traded in my Manic-Pixie-Dream-Girl (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manic_Pixie_Dream_Girl) card for a lukewarm latte and an Instagram filter.

If that was the deal, I WANT MY CARD BACK.

But if I did just so happen to embrace the zeitgeist and genuinely enjoy the colors of fall, the smell of cinnamon, and the warmth of flannel, would that be so bad?

I realize that my reluctance to adhere to any semblance of “basic”ism has a potential to morph into internalized sexism. (http://www.culturalbridgestojustice.org/programs/sexism/internalized-sexism/)

I don’t want to be like other girls because “other girls” are shallow. Women as a whole are typecast as materialistic, petty, weak… you get the idea.

But I love women. Beyond the stereotypes and the lies about what women can’t do, women are forces of nature, fearsome and majestic to behold, just as much as our dear male counterparts because we, too are created in God’s image. Maybe one of the things I love most about the Creator is that He shows His goodness in the fierce strength of a man

AND a woman in such different and intricate and complimentary ways. But that’s a whole other soapbox.

The problem is that, from the Manic Pixie Dream Girl to the Basic Bitch, women and men have taken on the idea that there is nothing of value going on beyond the exterior. Society has managed to reduce a demographic to the things that they consume.

Inspired by the snark emitting from this: (http://theodysseyonline.com/ball-state/ready-basic-fine/201672)

 

Leave a Reply

