Anne of Green Gables – Book Review

hw_anne_of_green_gables_cover3

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.”

Guys. I love Anne of Green Gables. Like, almost obsessively so. There are so many aspects about this delightful girl that reminds me of myself. When I found out there was a reading challenge for this series this year, I was definitely going to participate!

Because I don’t have a lot of time to read, I was listening to it on LibriVox. LibriVox is a wonderful website. Volunteers record themselves reading books in the public domain and anyone can listen to them for free. I love Karen Savage’s recordings, she has a wonderful voice that is very easy to listen to and understand.

But back to Anne. She’s wonderful. Sometimes I can really connect with her melodrama on a deep level.

“My life is a perfect graveyard of buried hopes.”

She has such a keen imagination, that sometimes gets her into a spot of trouble. And I can definitely connect with that.

This first book is first about Anne finding a home, friends, and love. They say home is where the heart is set in stone. Having a home is such an important thing to me. It’s not a place, it’s a feeling. And I think that is what Anne found when Marilla and Matthew accepted her into their home. She wasn’t there because they wanted a boy, she was there because Marilla thought they could help her and accepted her into their lives and their home. And even though Matthew never got that boy to help him on the farm, he wouldn’t have traded her for all of the boys in the world. He gave her puffed sleeves and love. She gained friends, specifically, a kindred spirit, Diana. She was Anne’s first true friend. And it’s a friendship that (spoiler alert) lasts for the entire series. Those true friends can be hard to find, but oh-so-wonderful to hold onto. And I’m so thankful for those in mine.

You can’t wrap up a post about Anne of Green Gables without Gil-that boy! You can keep your Mr. Darcys… I just need a Gilbert Blythe. He’s dreamy and wonderful and gave up the Avonlea School so she could stay home with Marilla.

Dreamy.

Anne has an incredible imagination, a full heart, and knows how to find the beauty in everything. Except maybe green hair.

“Dear old world’, she murmured, ‘you are very lovely, and I am glad to be alive in you.”

Leave a Reply

