Me Before You – Book Review

15507958

Book crossed off my reading challenge: A book that’s becoming a movie this year.

They’re making it into a movie, and the trailer looks soooooo good! I bet the book is great!

That’s not always a good rule of thumb. Reading The Time Traveler’s Wife has scarred me for life. 

That is not the case with Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. I laughed. I cried.

“The thing about being catapulted into a whole new life–or at least, shoved up so hard against someone else’s life that you might as well have your face pressed against their window–is that it forces you to rethink your idea of who you are. Or how you might seem to other people.”

Louisa Clark is a lovable character, stuck in her hometown with no aspirations. Will Traynor is wheelchair-bound in his hometown and would rather die. Literally. You join Louisa on a rough journey trying to change Will’s mind. When they’re thrown together everyday, they catch a glimpse of how the other half lives. And ultimately end up changing each other’s lives in some way.

I didn’t necessarily agree with the ending. And, oh boy, the tears were flowing. But I’m very interested in reading the sequel, to see how the story progresses.

I found the book strangely encouraging. I understood Louisa and her trepidation to leave the place she had grown up. She had a home to belong to. A relationship in a rut. She was comfortable. Her other reasons, are more removed from my life than the feeling of comfort and a place of belonging. But Will pushes her to leave, to dream big, to live.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

With graduation and my future looming ahead of me, I need that push. Not to run home and live in my hometown forever, unless I actually manage to find a job there, but to go out and and dream big.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go shopping for a red dress and a pair of bumblebee tights.

Leave a Reply

